The Vampire Diaries – TV

Vampire-mania is back! Vamp themed books, movies, and TV shows tend to come in cycles. Buffy the Vampire Slayer still has a cult following years after its prime. Lately it’s been blamed on Twilight. But I’m not going to talk about Twilight (well not right now). I’ve recently started watching The Vampire Diaries on the WB. The show has been compared to the Twilight series multiple times. Even though the books series the show is based on was released before Twilight, it would be hard to deny that it’s only on TV because of how popular Twilight has been.

This is the first time I’ve thought “I don’t want to read the series because it might ruin the show”. Blasphemy! I ALWAYS push reading the book before seeing a movie or show based on it. I personally love creating my own image of the characters before seeing whatever a director thought they looked/acted like. I think perhaps I’m putting off reading the books because I’m trying to force myself to not read anymore YA vampire books before finishing some stuff in other genres.

I must admit that I really like the series so far. Yes, it is a teen show and therefore a tad cheesy. However, the actors aren’t half bad (and the boys are cute). Last week’s episode was clearly just a build-up for this next week, but I like the slight twist on vampire lore and the building story with both the couple and the vampires vs the town-folk.

Only problem is that it’s on Thursday nights. I’m lucky and can DVR it and watch it later that night, but if I had to choose Bones would win 🙂

3 Responses

  1. I might have to check this show out, I would also have to DVR it because Bones is the best show in the history of the world! hehe

    • I haven’t seen this week’s Bones because I like to watch it with the hubs… he’s on his way home and now I think I know what we’re doing tonight 🙂

      I don’t know if you can watch The Vampire Diaries online anywhere. I’ll have to check it out.

  2. I would like to read more about this

Leave a Reply

