Weekly Geeks Post : Book Recommendations

I’m joining Weekly Geeks (and while I’m recommending things… I recommend you do so too!). This week the theme is Book Recommendations! I’ve gotten a great response on my 101 blog as far as book recommendations, but I’ve never asked for a book in a specific genre. So I’m asking for recommendations for a non-fiction book. I don’t remember the last time I read one and I’d like to pick one up again 🙂 If you have a suggestion(s) please post it in the comments section!!

And my recommendations if you are looking for an escapist read (easy, fun read) are:

  • Harry Potter – I know a lot of people consider these “kids” books and they are an easy read. However, there is a complexity to the story and characters that is just magical.
  • Twilight – I’m aware that these are not the best written books, but the story did captivate me.
  • Pride & Prejudice & Zombies – Being a fan of Pride & Prejudice, I picked this up for a good laugh… and I’ve been laughing every time I read it.
16 Responses

  1. Easy non-fiction read: We Thought You Would Be Prettier: True tales of the dorkiest girl alive by Laurie Notaro.

  2. I have a list of nonfiction recommendations on my post. My favorite of them though is Candy and Me by Hilary Liftin.

  3. Cult Insanity by Irene Spencer is a good non-fiction to start. It is memoir about polygamy, prophets and Blood Atonement.

    Weekly Geeks: Recommendations

  4. I loved Harry Potter and currently have Breaking Dawn on hold at the library.

    As for non-fiction, here are a few of my favorites:
    Devil in the White City by Erik Larson – an intertwining tale of the Chicago World’s Fair and a nearby serial killer at the turn of the century
    The Demon-Haunted World by Carl Sagan – an excellent book about skepticism and critical thinking
    Into the Wild by Jon Krakauer – very sad, but very enthralling tale of the author’s search for the true story of what happened to a boy who went to Alaska alone and never came back.
    Just a Geek by Wil Wheaton – a fun memoir about writing, acting, and self acceptance (and Star Trek).

    I must echo Aманда’s recommendation of Laurie Notaro. She’s hilarious. David Sedaris is another funny essayist.

    Enjoy!

    –melydia
    fellow Weekly Geek

    • Thanks!! I’m interested to see what you think of Breaking Dawn… there were a lot of mixed reviews. I liked it, but it did read almost as if it was written by someone else.

      I’ve read Into the Wild, but it’s been years… it’s currently on my to-reread list 🙂 Have you seen the movie? It was really well done.

      The others sound really interesting! I requested the Laurie Notaro book from my library, I’m hoping to start reading it next week 🙂 I LOVE David Sedaris! I need to pick up some new stuff by him.

      • Re: Into the Wild movie – I started to watch it, but what captivated me so much about the book was the author’s journey in Chris’s footsteps. The movie was just about Chris, which kind of threw me off. I’ll have to give it another chance sometime, now that I’ve heard so many rave reviews. 🙂

  5. It’s serendipity! I completed my Weekly Geeks on non-fiction books people should check out. My list is here: http://eclectcentric.blogspot.com/2009/10/weekly-geeks-recommendations.html

    • Ah I just saw a badge for the Banned Books Challenge and was going to check it out today!! Thanks!!

      PS. I’m adding you to my Book Blog links 🙂

  6. I’d recommend nearly anything by Bill Bryson. He’s a travel writer who combines a plethora of detail and history with a keen sense of humor.

  7. i’ve got to second Bryson. In a Sunburned Country is great. for more sciency stuff, try Jared Diamond. Collapse and Guns, Germs and Steel are both very good

Leave a Reply

