Weekly Geeks : Tools of the Trade

This week Weekly Geeks asks what tools do you use when blogging?

Book blogging, as a concept, is essentially pretty simple: If you have Internet access and an opinion about a book, you can be a book blogger. However, actually maintaining a book blog is much more complicated — our blogs are labors of love that require a lot of time, energy and devotion. For this edition of Weekly Geeks, I want to focus on the little things that make your blogging and/or reading life a bit easier. Do you use sites like GoodReads, LibraryThing or Shelfari to organize your books? Do you swear by Book Darts? Couldn’t live without your Book Buddy? Love connecting with other bloggers on sites such as Twitter? Tell us about what makes your blog tick. Is there something specific that keeps you organized or inspired?

As a new book blogger I’m sure I still have a lot to learn, but I have learned a little while working on my 101 books goal on my 101 in 1001 blog 🙂 I am a HUGE fan of WordPress! I’ve moved all but one blog over (and plan on moving that one after it’s one year anniversary). I find the dashboard very easy to navigate. I will say, however, that you do not have as much control over your layouts and widgets :/

I also use Twitter. It’s a great tool for not only spreading the word about what’s going on with your blog, but also a great place to find other bloggers and readers!

I’m a also a fan of Ning. I’m a member of BookBlogs.ning.com. And have found some great info and resources 🙂

And thanks this week’s prompt I found out about Windows Live Writer via fellow Weekly Geek, Erotic Horizon!

8 Responses

  1. Thanks for coming by my place and giving WLW a chance…

    I agree with you about Ning – I have learn so much from that network it’s unbelievable…

    Have a good Weekly geek this week…

    E.H>

  2. I’m a member of the Book Bloggers Ning but I don’t do much over there. I find the site awkward to use. My post is here.

  3. Your 101 list is an interesting plan of attack. I think finding a group of like minds and being in touch with them is probably the most important incentive to keep going. I like to visit people’s blogs and see what widgets etc. they have running.

    • I agree! I never expected to find the great online community that I have through the 101 in 1001. It’s been a wonderful motivator 🙂 Thanks for checking out my blog!

  4. I am not comfortable with that ning site somehow. And twitter too doesn’t work for me. I rely on google reader!

    Weekly Geeks: What Tools? What Trades?

    • I really should have mentioned GoogleReader. I don’t know how I’d keep up with all the different kinds of blogs I follow without it. The ning site isn’t great, but I didn’t find some blogs and info in the groups that helped. I won’t spend a ton of time on it. I think the only reason Twitter works for me is because I keep separate accounts. Otherwise it would be overwhelming. I don’t know how people handle following hundreds of people!

  5. I started to use Ning, but I was so involved with all my other tools that it fell by the wayside. There is just so much to do with book blogging that I have to draw the line somewhere. 🙂

    • Yeah I don’t use it as much as my other tools, but it was helpful with getting started and networking a little 🙂

Leave a Reply

