Tattoo Tuesday!

In honor of finishing up Mother Night by Kurt Vonnegut this week, I’m featured a tattoo inspired by his novel, Cat’s Cradle. cinderstar37 posted her new foot tattoo on Bookworms with Ink. I really love the placement, font, and idea behind this one!

s320x2402

s320x240

She says it “reminds me of the billions of things happening in the universe around me every moment of every day. While I will never come close to understanding the vast majority of reality, I am very interested in the flashes of insight I sometimes have concerning the “bigger picture.” Also, Vonnegut is one of my favourite authors and his writing pretty much changed my life and made me feel less isolated at a time when I was very alone.”

Beautifully done!!

5 Responses

  1. Ahhhhh i loveeee this. I remember seeing it and thinking what a good idea. I also saw someone with “lucky me, lucky mud’ which is from the same book. That is something I considered for awhile the sentiment is so beautiful.

    “God made mud.
    God got lonesome.
    So God said to some of the mud, “Sit up!”
    “See all I’ve made,” said God, “the hills, the sea, the sky, the stars.”
    And I was some of the mud that got to sit up and look around.
    Lucky me, lucky mud.
    I, mud, sat up and saw what a nice job God had done.
    Nice going, God.”

  2. I love how Kurt Vonnegut inspires people to mark their bodies as a constant reminder. I have “so it goes” on my arm – he manages to sum up amazing, mind blowing ideas in simple words. I love the font and the positioning of the words in the tattoo above. Nice work.

    • I really need to read more by him. He does have a gift with summing up complex ideas in simple ways 🙂

      I love when I see a tattoo that makes me want to read the book that inspired it!

Leave a Reply

