Women Unbound – Start of Challenge Meme

Women Unbound Challenge website

women_unbound

1. What does feminism mean to you? Does it have to do with the work sphere? The social sphere? How you dress? How you act?

I’m honestly unsure on how to answer this. I don’t know that I think about feminism often. I believe women are equal to men. I have a partnership with my husband. I do not ask for his permission to wear what I want or do what I want with my body (tattoos, hair ect)… HOWEVER, I do ask his opinion because I care what he thinks.

2. Do you consider yourself a feminist? Why or why not?

I guess that depends on how you define “feminist”. Do I believe in the power of women? YES Do I believe women and men are equals? YES Do I think we deserve to be treated with respect? YES

3. What do you consider the biggest obstacle women face in the world today? Has that obstacle changed over time, or does it basically remain the same?

Ourselves!! I feel that women are very judgmental of themselves and other women. We are usually our own worst enemy. I honestly, don’t know if this has change over time. It may be worse than it once was.

6 Responses

  1. I don’t know if we will ever be able to forgive ourselves, either. We are so hard on each other and ourselves. We hold ourselves up to really high standards and get upset when we or other women don’t meet them. I guess it makes us strive to be better… but also makes it horrible to fail to live up to those expectations.

  2. I totally agree women are sometimes their own worst enemy. We are the most judgmental of each other, I hope that can change very soon!

  3. Based on my definition of a feminist, it sounds like you belong!

  4. Augh, I so want to do this but I don’t think I’ll have the time to complete one book outside of my schoolwork, much less two or three (and I currently have four books that fit the challenge description, just waiting to be read!). Grrr, schoolwork.

    For what it’s worthy, I definitely think you’re a feminist and I agree that women do put too much energy in cutting other women down so they can feel better about themselves. It’s so destructive. Why not just work on feeling better about yourself, period?

  5. I completely agree with you that women are our own worst enemies. I wrote something similar in my answer to this question.

Leave a Reply

