The Vampire Diaries – Awakening (1st Attempt)

I tried starting The Vampire Diaries: The Awakening by L. J. Smith last night and couldn’t get more than a few pages in. I LOVE the TV series based on the series and could not believe how different the main characters were in the book. I know this is to be expected and to be honest if I had read the book first it might not have bothered me. However, I like what they have done with TV characters’ personalities. Elena in the book seemed so shallow (granted I only read the first chapter…). I plan on waiting to try to read it again after this season is over on the WB.

Has anyone else had this problem?

4 Responses

  1. Wow, that’s really interesting. I didn’t want to read the series b/c I’m enjoying seeing how the show unfolds and I don’t want the books to ruin anything for (I’m not sure if they’re the same, plot-wise, or not).

    • I didn’t really want to read them either because of how much I like the series (which feels like blasphemy because I’m ALWAYS saying read the books first lol). I think I’m just going to have to stick with the TV series and try the books again later 🙂

    • no u really should reads the books in the end i think they are a lot better then the series so far a lot more detail and more things happen you get to know the characters A LOT better in the books.

      • I’m glad you said this! I think I’m going to try again after the season is over and I’ve had a little break from the show. I just don’t think I gave them enough of a chance.

Leave a Reply

