Tattoo Tuesday {8} “miles to go”

Do you have a literary tattoo? I’d love to feature it!

Just send me an email with a picture and story behind it.

This tattoo jumped out at me. I really love it! It’s something I would consider getting if/when I compete a marathon or just to motivate me to keep going. Robert Frost is one of my favorite poets (granted I don’t read a ton of poetry).

This is Mackenzie Sky’s tattoo:

I encountered this poem when I was 17 in my literary class during my junior year of high school. I was going through a really rocky period in my life, and I found a calm in reading Robert Frost’s poetry, especially when I read this poem. It is my favorite. I had originally wanted to get the entire last stanza, but I realized that A) it would be really huge, and B) it wasn’t necessary. Although at first when I walked into the tattoo shop (The Parlour Tattoo, Eugene, OR) and the jolly/cynical desk man and the very attractive tattoo artist (the man who ended up DOING my tattoo) told me how large it would be, I was kind of crushed. In fact, I was really upset. But the more I thought about it, and the more research on my tattoo I did (fonts, sizes, spread, etc.) the more I realized I didn’t need the entire stanza: I just needed “miles to go”.

What the tattoo is for me is a reminder. It is my nine letter stamp that tells me I got through the rough times, and that I can keep going–I have to keep going. And that where ever I get to in life, be it another down-hill slide or something extremely rewarding, not to stay there too long, because I have to move on, and I have to keep moving on until I die.

I am very proud of my tattoo. I loved it before he put the stencil on me.

– Source – Contrariwise.com –

9 Responses

  1. This is touching and a great tattoo idea.

  2. Ahh this is one of my all time favorite lit tattoos and one of my favorite poems! This tattoo actually confirmed for me the fact that I want a tattoo in that placement!! Great choice as always

  3. This is the first time I’ve visited your blog and I think this idea is AWESOME!

    • Thanks for stopping by!! If you come across any good literary tattoos (or have some!) let me know so I can feature them 🙂

      Hope you stop by again!

  4. I love how you spotlight literay tattoos! I also really like the name of your blog, I need more hours in my day for reading 😀

    • Thanks! I could definitely use more hours in the day for reading lol. If you come across any good literary tattoos (or have some!) let me know so I can feature them 🙂

  5. Writing articles is time consuming.I know where you
    can get unlimited content for your website, type
    in google:
    Anightund’s rewriter

Leave a Reply

