The Light, The Dark, & The Ember Between {Book Review}

This book in six words: magically brought real love to life

I am super excited to be a part of J.W. Nicklaus’ virtual book tour! I recently finished up The Light, The Dark, & The Ember Between and I will be rereading it after loaning it out to my friends and family. The book is comprised of a collection of stories that evoke thought, sadness, happiness, and warmth. The writing is pure magic. I found myself rereading whole paragraphs to just soak in the imagery again and again. I don’t normally get into short stories. Don’t get me wrong, I like them for a quick read. However, I normally don’t connect with the characters. J.W. has a way of instantly wrapping you up in the drama and mystery to the point you can hardly stand to wait to see how it ends. I was surprised at how often I laughed out loud. I was going to pick a favorite out of the fifteen pieces, but I don’t think I can pick just one. I very, very  much enjoyed “Paper Doll”, “10:18”, and “Four Letter Session”, but I can honestly say I liked them all. I’m going to recommend this to everyone. If you like fiction, short stories, a touch of fantasy, comedy, drama, and/or realistic characters (people you could very well know).

“She cried.

The tears fell like flecks in a snow globe, slow and pristine. Few things break my heart like a woman crying. How awful is the outward manifestation of empty, broken dreams, with a companion broken heart to mend.”

– beginning of “Paper Doll”

About the Author:

J.W. Nicklaus resides in a place not entirely fit for human habitation about five months of the year. No pets to speak of, only the apparitions from which all romantics suffer.

An Arizona native, he’s been from one coast to the other, and a few places in between. College brought an AA in Journalism with a minor in Photography, and a Bachelor of Science in Telecommunications. His work experience has run the gamut from Creative Director for a small advertising firm in Tucson to a litigation support bureau in Phoenix (and assuredly some awkward stuff in the mix).

Snow has been featured prominently in his stories, perhaps because of the seasonless cli-mate he lives in. Nature was meant to be enjoyed and experienced, not hidden from the senses. So to that end, he hopes someday to live amongst those who are able to live through four true seasons, and not just blast furnace and warm.

He enjoys the occasional Arizona Diamondbacks game with his son, as well as watching him grow up. The experience of being a single dad has taught him far more about himself than he ever thought possible.

Within the expanse of every waking moment, he hopes his guardian angel keeps its arms open wide and heart ever watchful, for there but for one true Hope goes She.

For more about J.W. visit www.avomnia.com.

Tour Dates:

Tuesday, Dec. 1
Interview l Chat l Book Giveaway at Pump Up Your Book
Guest blogging at As the Pages Turn

Wednesday, Dec. 2
Interviewed at Examiner

Thursday, Dec. 3
Interviewed at Working Writers

Friday, Dec. 4
Guest blogging at The Impression I Get

Monday, Dec. 7
Interviewed at A Book and a Chat Radio Show
Interviewed at The Hot Author Report

Tuesday, Dec. 8
Guest blogging at Beth’s Book Review Blog

Wednesday, Dec. 9
Book reviewed at Reading on the Beach
Guest blogging at Market My Novel

Thursday, Dec. 10
Book reviewed at Pump Up Your Book
Guest blogging at Blogging Authors

Friday, Dec. 11
Book reviewed at The Life of an Inanimate Flying Object

Monday, Dec. 14
Book reviewed at 25 Hour Books
Interviewed on Introducing Writers Radio Show

Tuesday, Dec. 15
Book reviewed at Books, Books, the Magical Fruit
Interviewed at AllVoices

Wednesday, Dec. 16
Interviewed at Broowaha
Book reviewed at Review From Here
Book reviewed at Cafe of Dreams

3 Responses

  1. […] review above came from Ms. Tara Stone Gill at 25 Hour Books. One of my favorite lines from her review is: I found myself rereading whole paragraphs to just […]

  2. Those are six very enticing words of high praise — hadn’t heard of this one but I’ll be looking for it now.

  3. Thanks, Kiirstin :^)

    Hope you enjoy it!

    J.W. Nicklaus

Leave a Reply

