Beautiful Creatures {Book Review}

This book in 6 words : Haunting Southern mystery with impossible love.

I’d like to start with saying how I’m going to slam my head into a wall if I finish one more book only to discover that it is the first in a series. PLEASE put “Book 1” or “X Series” on the books!!!!

I received Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl from Kelly at Stacked Books for the Book Blogger Holiday Swap! I really did like it and I will be reading the next in the series.

Ethan Wate is struggling to hide his apathy for his high school “in” crowd in small town Gatlin, South Carolina, until he meets the determinedly “out” Lena Duchannes, the girl of his dreams (literally–she has been in his nightmares for months). What follows is a smart, modern fantasy–a tale of star-crossed lovers and a dark, dangerous secret. Beautiful Creatures is a delicious southern Gothic that charms you from the first page, drawing you into a dark world of magic and mystery until you emerge gasping and blinking, wondering what happened to the last few hours (and how many more you’re willing to give up). To tell too much of the plot would spoil the thrill of discovery, and believe me, you will want to uncover the secrets of this richly imagined dark fantasy on your own. —Daphne Durham (via Amazon)

I’m not one to shy away from big books. I was, however, surprised to find out that this 600 page turning mystery is only the first in a series. I didn’t feel like the book was too long, however, I did catch myself skimming near the end when I was dying to find out how it ended. To be honest, I almost put the book down after the first chapter because I wasn’t really getting into it, but I kept going and after a few more chapters I was hooked. The suspense is so intense that I finished this within two days.

Ethan and Lena are beautifully written. I found myself laughing and crying with them. The story is complex without being confusing. You will find yourself thinking about it long after you put the book down. I will be passing this along to my friends and recommending it to anyone who loves YA fiction/fantasies.

* This goes towards my 101 Books Challenge and my A-Z Book Challenge

Don’t forget to enter to win

a free blog header and badge!!

5 Responses

  1. I’m frustrated this is a series, too. Honestly, I didn’t even LIKE this one. Why would I invest in more books on it (like you, I didn’t get into it at first but kept going, only to continue feeling disappointed). I’m REALLY glad you liked it though! Phew – I took a total shot in the dark on this.

  2. […] is one of the many poets Lena (from Beautiful Creatures) loves to read. And so I bring to you a Charles Bukowski inspired […]

  3. I also had a hard time getting into this book but I kept going until I finished it. Lena and Uncle Macon were fun to root for while Ethan did nothing to drive the story forward. I didn’t like Ethan for the simple fact that he never took the initiative in any situation he merely stood around feeling “helpless” while other characters took action. Lena’s POV would’ve been better especially when you consider the fact that she ended up fighting all her own battles while Ethan, like the rest of Gatlin’s male population, were mere onlookers to what turned out to be one big catfight between all of Gatlin’s femme fatales!

  4. Hi! I’ve been reading your web site for some time now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from Porter Tx! Just wanted to say keep up the good job!

  5. I don’t leave a response, but after looking at through a few of the remarks on Beautiful Creatures Book
    Review | 25 Hour Books. I do have 2 questions for you if
    it’s okay. Could it be simply me or do some
    of these comments appear as if they are left
    by brain dead folks? 😛 And, if you are writing
    on other online social sites, I’d like to keep up with you.
    Could you make a list of every one of all your public sites like your linkedin profile,
    Facebook page or twitter feed?

Leave a Reply

