Tattoo Tuesday {12} SKIN

Do you have a literary tattoo? I’d love to feature it!

Just send me an email with a picture and story behind it.

Blogs Participating in Tattoo Tuesday:

Padfoot & Prongs @ Good Books Inc

Have you heard of the SKIN project?

Writer Shelley Jackson invites participants in a new work entitled “Skin.” Each participant must agree to have one word of the story tattooed upon his or her body. The text will be published nowhere else, and the author will not permit it to be summarized, quoted, described, set to music, or adapted for film, theater, television or any other medium. The full text will be known only to participants, who may, but need not choose to establish communication with one another.

Participates are known only as “words”.

They are not understood as carriers or agents of the texts they bear, but as its embodiments. As a result, injuries to the printed texts, such as dermabrasion, laser surgery, tattoo cover work or the loss of body parts, will not be considered to alter the work. Only the death of words effaces them from the text. As words die the story will change; when the last word dies the story will also have died. The author will make every effort to attend the funerals of her words.

So who would want to do this? A LOT OF PEOPLE! She had tens of thousands of volunteers for the last words. I don’t know if the project is finished. The website doesn’t appear to have been updated in a while.

I think I would volunteer to do this… but what if I got a terrible word?

Would you do this?


5 Responses

  1. That’s an awesome idea… but I’m pretty sure I’d end up with a horrible word. Just my luck…

  2. yeah, this project is old and it has ended some time ago now.. I heard that quite a few participants in the end didn’t receive the story that was promised them , or they had to wait for it for a year or more and they didn’t hear anything from the project itself anymore or it’s starter.. The intention and the idea behind the project was great, but I believe that eventually the interest of the starters ( not those of the participants who were really into it ) dried up and just cared less and less about it
    but the story was finished as I may remember, the ‘after-care’ for the words was just not done properly

    • Thanks! I figured as much. I agree that the idea was amazing. I just wish there would have been more follow-through :/

  3. As a Newbie, I am usually searching on the internet for articles that can guide me. Thank you

Leave a Reply

