The Art of Racing in the Rain {Guest Review}

__________________

Here is a guest review by my blogger friend, Aманда.

__________________

Rating * * * * *

It is rare for me to give one book in a day five stars, let alone two books.  But this book has captured my heart in much the same way that Marley & Me did when I first read it (note: I have not yet seen this movie, but I want to, and it is on my list).  And it moved me to tears.  It is a story of a dog, his family, his life and all the triumphs and heartaches that went along with it.  The book is narrated by the dog, Enzo.  Being a HUGE sucker for dogs, Enzo is everything I imagine my own dog(s) to be.  From the back of the book:

A heart-wrenching but deeply funny and ultimately uplifting story of family, love, loyalty, and hope – a captivating look at the wonders and absurdities of human life…as only a dog could tell it.

Which says everything I’m capable of saying right now.  If you are the type of person who believes their animals to have individual personalities with their own thoughts and feelings, and, like me, talk to your pets as if they can understand exactly what you’re saying, this book is well worth the read.  Favorite quotes:

  • “The human language, as precise as it is with its thousands of words, can still be so wonderfully vague.”  (Because it’s so true)
  • “I’m sure my father was a terrier.  Because terriers are problem solvers.  They’ll do what you tell them, but only if it happens to be what they wanted to do anyway.”  (because this totally reminds me of Kyle’s dog)
One Response

  1. I cant find your RSS feed i would like to subscribe to your content.

Leave a Reply

